Home > Uncategorized > NameCheap Hosting Update

NameCheap Hosting Update

After berating NameCheap for their overly-demanding need for information to authenticate a change to my account I ended up cancelling the request. All I wanted to do was change the master domain on my account to a new domain, a seemingly simply request that got bogged down in bureaucracy.

They replied to my previous email and relented a little — all they needed was my address, email account and telephone number. Otherwise they’d refuse to action my request.

So I explained.

The email address I used for signup could have been one of 25 I routinely use. It could be anything at one of the 50 domains attached to my NameCheap account or could be my Hotmail or Google Mail account.

My street address could be one of 15 that I’ve routinely used in the 5 years of being a NameCheap customer. Did they want a personal or business address? Was it the one associated with the credit card they charge monthly or something else? If it was the one attached to the credit card, it could be the real address or the spelling mistake that is used by Canada Post and on my bill because Canada Post also spell it incorrectly in their postal code database that they provide. When your credit card is issued by TD Canada the address is populated from the postal code database.

And my telephone number could be the home phone I had two years ago, the home phone today, my cellphone or one that I completely made up because I never saw the point in them having it in the first place.

Now if they could give me a clue about what they’re asking for, I can probably help.

In the end I told them to cancel the ticket. I’ll simply move my hosting elsewhere.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

