Home > Uncategorized > Adobe Dreamweaver CS4 Build 4117 Crash : Initializing Files

Adobe Dreamweaver CS4 Build 4117 Crash : Initializing Files

It never ceases to amaze me how I can destroy my working setup in a matter of seconds that takes hours to recover from. Take todays example…

I posted a message on the Kohana forums to find out what the Kohana Ninjas use for developing their applications. As I’d been having problems with the ORM objects and my incorrect pluralization when I setup the relationships I wanted to step-through the Kohana internals and discover where I was going wrong.

So after downloading all of the leading PHP IDEs, installing them and failing miserably to get them working with my Kohana application, I turned to the forums. So far I’ve had some great replies and will be working my way through them over the coming weeks. One particular comment struck a chord though, I should be using Subversion.

I agree and I’d been trying to get it going on and off for a while and then I recalled that Dreamweaver CS4 had source control built-in so I used a handy guide to setup Subversion 1.6.3 on my PC. As Jeff’s post said, it took less than 30 minutes to get it going and I even added the repository into my Mozy backup just to make double sure. All worked fine until I shutdown my PC and tried to start CS4 up again, it refused – BANG!!!

CS4 started up and then failed while ‘Initializing Files’. I tried a whole multitude of fixes, including the deletion of files, registry keys. I even downloaded the Microsoft Debugging Tools, used the File Monitoring application from SysInternals and Google’d every step of the way.

In the end I found the clue online – it was Subversion. As this had been my last change I’d suspected this was the culprit, I’d even removed the web site I was working on, as well as stopping the service but to no avail.

Dreamweaver CS4 is only compatible with Subversion 1.4.5 so I had to downgrade my Subversion. I found a copy of the 1.4.5 Windows binary online and installed it. DON’T DO THIS!!!

I ended up over-writing my copy of Subversion and then going through some hoops to dump the repository with the 1.6.3 copy and reload it with the newly installed 1.4.5 copy.

WITH HINDSIGHT – Dump the repository with the 1.6.3 copy you have installed, THEN downgrade it, recreate the repository, setup the users and permissions again and then reload the repository from the dumped files.

And now it all works again – phew! Just another 8 hours wasted of my life.

UPDATE: It seems the problem may be caused by TortoiseSVN and Dreamweaver CS4 as it seems DW will work with a later version of Subversion but only if no other client interacts with the repository … ever. See this Adobe forum posting for more information. To me, it seems highly unstable though and would still recommend downgrading to 1.4.5 until Adobe fix the ‘real’ problem.

  1. August 8, 2009 at 7:49 pm

    Thanks for this been wondering for hours what the issue could be.
    found this and fixed it in minuites

  2. paishin
    August 10, 2009 at 10:47 pm

    I’m sorry to hear about all the trouble you went through….
    but the problem is not so serious as you think.

    The reason dreamweaver “crashes” at the splash screen is because it is waiting to establish a connection with the SVN.

    Although it might seem that it has crashed (hourgrlass, whitening of the window, not responding message at the top) the system keeps trying to connect. Now if you just wait 10+ minutes Dreamweaver will quit trying to connect and will boot up normally.

    I have the same problem with my SVN, since its on a server that is not always on.

    If anyone knows a workaround please post.

    • pablolivardo
      August 10, 2009 at 10:57 pm

      No, it really did crash. It aborted the load, produced a nice dump file and removed itself from memory. My investigations led to the problem with the version of Subversion. Dreamweaver just didn’t understand the newer repository model used beyond v1.4.5. I hope Adobe fixes the issue as I prefer to use DW for my IDE and now it has Subversion makes it even better for me. I’m sure one day I’ll move to an Eclipse-based tool such as Aptana or the Zend product but for now it’s working well for me. I have tried these other tools but couldn’t get them to understand Kohana and the how one PHP file relates to a URL.

    • Dave Richards
      November 8, 2009 at 5:34 pm

      I also get a hard crash, and the problem is very subtle. I had it all working great with Subversion 1.6.1 at the server. Then I upgraded to Windows 7 from XP and had to reinstall all my apps as it’s a fresh install rather than a true upgrade from XP. In the process I updated to latest SVN (1.6.6) on the server. I have exactly the problem described here. I don’t have any other SVN clients installed on machine with Dreamweaver.

      Maybe I’ll spend some time trying to figure it out. For now I just plan to install an SVN client and manage source outside of Dreamweaver.

  3. April 28, 2010 at 10:01 am

    Wish i read this blog first, we were so happy to use SVN with the dream of having our code manage effectively and share integration with other tools such as zend studio.

    But our dream turn into nightmare.. as dreamweaver unable to run due installation subversion 1.6.x

    please let me know on how to solve this problem.. i already remove the subversion buat dreamweaver still stuck on its ‘initizing files’ phase

  4. May 12, 2010 at 7:13 pm

    Really annoying bug!

  1. July 21, 2009 at 1:30 am
  2. September 2, 2009 at 8:40 pm

Leave a Reply

